Betta Bred

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Betta Bred

5 posters

Hey!

Hey! Empty Hey!

Post by Guest Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:08 am

Hey everyone, I'm completely new to fish keeping and starting of with a Betta fish. Just brought a 45 litre tank today and its settling at the moment with its bamboo and plants awaiting its first male fish once Ive finished window shopping Smile.
    Quick question for anyone, when I take a sample of the tank water to check it at the aquarium shop, what do I need to check for and within what limits, I know about pH and have water conditioner for the chlorine but don't really know about hard/soft water.
    Thanks everyone
    x

Hey! Empty Re: Hey!

Post by Guest Sat Sep 11, 2010 11:26 am

Oooh an this is the tank, little murky as this was taken about 5 mins after I put it together
    [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
    magzmoir
    magzmoir
    king crown

Post by magzmoir Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:37 pm

hi ellie, first welcome to the forum Smile

When you take your water to your lfs (local fish store) they will test it for Ammonium, NitrIte and NitrAte. All 3 are poisonous to your fish, idealy you want your ammonium and Nitrite to be at 0ppm and your Nitrate to be less than 20ppm (the lower the better). Its worth while to invest in a liquid test kit since you will want to check the water yourself regularly Smile

Im not sure what thread its in but you shuold check out the nitrogen cycle and fishless cycling. Thats how you make the water in your tank stable Smile one of our highly efficient moderators will point you in the right direction if you ask Smile
    Storm
    Admin

Post by Storm Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:41 pm

Hi and Welcome to the forum,

I think this is the page mag means Smile

Post by Guest Sat Sep 11, 2010 8:45 pm